From Hitchwiki
Revision as of 21:32, 21 March 2010 by Gutuater (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hitching under the rain from Bergen to Førde, Norway

Diego, alias Gutuater comes from a tiny village in Northern Italy, which he left in 2006 at the age of 20, and has not stopped travelling since. Until October 2009, he was living in Reykjavík, Iceland, but is currently leading a purely nomadic life, somewhere in Scandinavia.


He lived in Italy, Germany, Norway and Iceland, and recently spent quite a long time in Denmark too, and in his yet short hitching career has thumbed through Iceland, Faroe Islands, Denmark, Norway, Germany, Switzerland and the Netherlands. His best-thumbed countries are Iceland and Germany. Recently, he spent 3 weeks in Japan, where he went from Nagasaki to Tokyo hitching rides for 1300km and soaking in hot springs along the way. The longest ride is overnight on a truck to Tokyo (500km).


He's fluent in Italian (native), English, German, and Norwegian. Less fluent in Spanish, Portuguese, French, Icelandic, Danish and Swedish. Can survive a basic conversation in Faroese and Dutch. He's desperately waiting for the right moment to learn a Slavic language. The best conversation was while hitching with a Faroese shepherd, speaking a mixture of Faroese, Icelandic, Danish and English.

Hitching in Japan


His plans are yet not fully clear. He left Iceland in October 2009 and is still hitting his head against a wall asking himself why. After vagabonding in Denmark and Sweden, a 3-weeks parenthesis in Japan, he now temporarily relocated to Voss, Norway for a short-term job in a hostel. A comeback to Iceland in the summer is not entirely unlikely. You will most certainly meet him in Copenhagen again later in August.

He's looking for hitch-mates for next summer, and very probably heading to the hitching festival, wherever it is.

Hitching in the Netherlands


Primarily a linguist, he's interested in vegetarian/vegan/macrobiotic cookery, ethnology, religions, street music, primitivism, alternative and sustainable living, beer(s), organic agriculture and self-sufficiency.


Hitchwiki, StealThisWiki [1]

CouchSurfing Profile



Danish mobile: +45/50106027

Icelandic mobile: +354/8416623

Italian mobile: +39/3396667272

Skype: gutuater85

E-mail: ek.hlewagastir(at)

Blog and Travelog: [3]